On command line, running 'synapse get syn4988808'.
Could this be due to the new sharing setting "View" without Download permissions? Is the client still trying to download the file even if it doesn't have permission and generates a bad error message.
Actually, further inspection shows the behavior is as expected in release 1.6.1 (403 error). I was running from develop branch, which reports version 1.6.1 (commit 2e560c6):
Head of develop now (commit eff4556) gives:
Yepp, we assume that if we can see the file we will be able to download it.
Catch this and add a nicer error message. Could also be used to check if there are access restrictions?
I see the new warning.
Verified fixed py-1.7 vs stack-185.