Last month I mistakenly deleted a project, instead of a table (thanks Mette for helping me recover it by pointing out that I can find it in the trash can in alpha mode). I noticed that the delete confirmation prompts for all files, tables and projects look the same. Can we have the corresponding synapse icons in the prompts to help users visually, since deleting a project is a bigger issue as compared to a file or table?
: Could you do a quick design review of this request, and I'll make the change (estimate that it will take about a half a day to implement a new custom delete dialog).
Tangential, but related - a request to modify the custom dialog on Projects when permissions are changed (similarly, we have altered project settings when the intention was to alter a folder/file).
Thanks Megha. I think we need to be more informative when someone is deleting a project. Deleting a project (and possibly a folder) can have disastrous consequences - it can delete thousands or tens of thousands of entities and we don’t warn about that. I suggest that the design for deleting projects and pssibly folders warn about this and maybe even offer two levels of confirmation.
Think about what github does when you ask to do things in the “danger zone” such as deleting:
As an aside, the “danger zone” in github is a great design concept to differentiate operations such as deleting from others: